IPC-HDW5831R-ZE vs DS-2CD2385FWD-I

Tazz 316

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
The IPC-HDW5831R-ZE or the hik DS-2CD2385FWD-I

Which of these two 8MP cams have the better day light image? or are they equal in the day light

Thanks for the help!

Last edited:

Tazz 316

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
I know there are post about these two but which one has the better day time image?

BobDoh

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
I am new to this and am having the same question. Which of these 2 cameras did you decide was better in daylight?

aristobrat

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
I'm curious too. They both look to have the same image sensor, but the Dahua has a varifocal lens (vs. the Hik's fixed lens), and there's usually a little diff between how Hikvision and Dahua process images. Which did you prefer, @Tazz316?

Tazz 316

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
I'm curious too. They both look to have the same image sensor, but the Dahua has a varifocal lens (vs. the Hik's fixed lens), and there's usually a little diff between how Hikvision and Dahua process images. Which did you prefer, @Tazz316?

I ended up with the hik sense I got it cheaper. Could not really tell a difference between the two besides the obvious varifocal lens.

BobDoh

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
I have so many questions. The more I read ipcamtalk, the more information overloaded and confused I become.
I was leaning towards dahua, but undecided on which of the recommended 5231R-Z, 5231R-ZE, or 2231RP-ZS. (btw: what is the E in xxxx-ZE, and does the 5231 not have starlight since there is no S in the model?)
Then I had a security company come in for a quote and essentially say "hik 2385 is better", and "go with 8MP; it makes no sense for 2MP starlight be better at night than an 8MP camera". I'm not savvy enough to counter his argument. I'm just blindly following the numerous advice on this forum stating not to chase megapixels.