TropDayz

n3wb
Reaction score
I’m just now starting to put together my Blue Iris system and I’m searching for a computer to be used for solely this purpose.

Fenderman has kindly provided me guidance in what to look for so my search is on.

I’m looking for an Elitedesk / Optiplex / Prodesk i5-8500 or better with a minimum of 8GB RAM.

Based on what I have read here it seems it makes sense to have a SSD for speed and a WD Purple for storage.

Since I am just getting started my goal is to find a computer I can grow into without having to upgrade because I have maxed it out with number of camera, frame rate, resolution.

Based on all I’ve read power consumption becomes a real concern. I’m unclear how these computers compare to each other in that regard.

I am currently searching eBay and refurb outlets but I‘ve noticed how helpful the members here can be in finding the best deals on machines ideal for BI.

My budget for the computer is around $400.

I really appreciate anyone’s help or input.

Armed&Overclocked

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
is there a specific reason you are looking for an 8th gen i5 for your rig? from what i could tell for most home setups 5th gen or better should be sufficient, and right now the price-to performance sweet spot on ebay seems to be 5th gen with noticeable bumps in price at 6th gen and higher.

Also for your computer budget are you including the cost of a powered Ethernet switch?

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
is there a specific reason you are looking for an 8th gen i5 for your rig? from what i could tell for most home setups 5th gen or better should be sufficient, and right now the price-to performance sweet spot on ebay seems to be 5th gen with noticeable bumps in price at 6th gen and higher.

Also for your computer budget are you including the cost of a powered Ethernet switch?