I've been messing around with IPCams for about 15 years

Jeff G

n3wb
Reaction score
I've been trying to use IPCams for about 15 years now. I've used such horrors as DLink versions from circa 2003, a few versions of TrendNET IP cameras between 2007 and 2015, and of late have been using Dahua cameras.

Up until recently, I had only used the Motion open source program (Motion - Open source security camera software) up until a few months ago when I switched to DWSpectrum.

At the moment, I have two Dahua DH-IPC-HFW11A0SN and two DH-IPC-HFW11A0S-W cameras of which I'm using three with DWSpectrum.

I use only Linux for my server. I find Windows to not be cut out for long term use as a server and I hate wasting resources running a GUI. I run my Linux machines headless and manage via ssh or http interface.

I like the Dahua cameras performance, but I find the way that they name and release their firmware to lack much logic or much attention to detail. Their file naming scheme has me mystified to this day.

How the heck am I supposed to know that file:

DH_IPC-ACKThemis_EngSpnFrn_N_V2.400.0000.15.R.20170804.zip

is the right firmware for my DH-IPC-HFW11A0SN camera?

Maybe someone here can help me with the incantation necessary to figure this out.

Anyway, thanks for making this site available. I look forward to conversations with you all.

Jeff G.

Last edited:

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
I've been trying to use IPCams for about 15 years now. I've used such horrors as DLink versions from circa 2003, a few versions of TrendNET IP cameras between 2007 and 2015, and of late have been using Dahua cameras.

Up until recently, I had only used the Motion open source program (Motion - Open source security camera software) up until a few months ago when I switched to DWSpectrum.

At the moment, I have two Dahua DH-IPC-HFW11A0SN and two DH-IPC-HFW11A0S-W cameras of which I'm using three with DWSpectrum.