I've been robbed, need a video camera asap

Vin Tekiel

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Hi,

I wanted to set up video camera around my house for a long time... Well, I waited to long. Just got robbed. it's pretty bad, but let's get to my questions knowing that I don't know anything about this subject (except for the past 2 days doing research on the internet). To understand my requirements, note that I'm a software engineer willing to spend tons of time on this.

1) Get an external video camera asap. More will come, but I just need to be quick. (Thieves are leaving next street, I was able to localized the location of my stuff, @#$^%@#$)
2) I want to be able to record everything in the cloud, not at home.
3) Set up software need to run on linux or Mac (no windows)

Ok, so from my research, it looks like the best would be an IP video camera that has 2 video streams, support onvif or at least support rtsp or some other protocol. Then as a first step, I could use live555 running on a machine in the cloud to record everything. It can be wireless or not, can need to be plugged in or not.

But with all my research, and all the cameras and brand out there, I still have no ideas which one I should get. Any pointer in the right direction would be very appreciated. My budget for the first camera? well, if it could be less than $300 dollars, it would be great. But I want to build some face recognition software later.

Thank you in advance,

Vin

Razer

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
Ok, recording directly to the cloud is tough if you get very many cameras, if you are only doing a few then you have a better chance. It will use a TON of bandwidth and if you loose internet then you have no recording. I would think a better way would be to record locally, then upload that to an FTP when it's done or at certain times of the day.