iVMS-4200 Doesn't See My Old or New Hikvision Cameras

wapaper59

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Ughhh! I'm trying to add 3 NEW Hikvision DS-2CD2142FWD-I cameras to my existing Hikvision system which is 2-3 years old. The NVR says all 8 ports are full even though I only have 5 cameras hooked up. I have plugged one of the new cameras in without activating it but the NVR says it's not there. So I used iVMS to try to find the new camera but it doesn't see it nor does it even see the 5 old cameras. Then I tried SADP and the same thing happens. They both see the NVR but none of the cameras. I do not have the cameras on a LAN or plugged into the internet, just into the NVR. Even though I've had my system for maybe 3 years, I have never tried to "mess" with it before. I have tried to upgrade my NVR but I get 2 error messages. One is a "version mismatch" I think it was and the second one is a "firmware mismatch". Does anyone have any ideas on where to start "fixing" this system? I'm not sure what language the current firmware is in but I did buy the originals from a non-Hikvision dealer (who is out of business) which I just found out was a mistake. I've also tried to contact the seller of the new cameras but to no avail. I THINK I need to upgrade the NVR firmware first and then maybe it will see the new cameras but I can't even get it to do that. Any help would be greatly appreciated as I have already spent 40-50 hours on this system and have gotten absolutely nowhere. Thanks!

alastairstevenson

Staff member
Reaction score
You haven't specified the key item of this problem - the model of the NVR, nor the firmware version on it.

Do not try to update the NVR firmware - you will likely dig yourself quite a hole.
I do think you have dodged a bullet by getting those failed errors when attempting updates.

I'm going to speculate that you have an 8 channel NVR with 8 PoE ports, and are maybe trying to 'Add' the new cameras.