Laptop instead?

Discussion in 'General BI Talk' started by farnk, Jan 22, 2019.

Share This Page

  1. farnk

    farnk Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2018
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    New York
    Hi,
    I read the wiki and is suggested Dell Optiplex and or HP to use with Blue Iris. I am wondering can I use a laptop with the same HD, CPU, RAM, OS specs instead of a PC?

    thanks,
    Frank
     
  2. tangent

    tangent IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    2,488
    Laptops have weaker processors. If you don't have many cameras and have an old laptop lying around, you can try it.
    However, desktops are preferable for many reasons.
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2019
    mat200, Mike and farnk like this.
  3. farnk

    farnk Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2018
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    New York
    Hi, I plan to have 4-5 cameras. So are you saying that an intel i7 on a desktop is stronger than an intel i7 on a laptop?
     
  4. tangent

    tangent IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    2,488
    Yes, but i7 by itself is a meaningless term. You could be talking about a 10 year old i7 for all I know.
    Laptop processors are lower power so battery life is improved, that also means less processing power.

    If you're buying a computer to use for Blue Iris, buy a desktop.
    Compare CPU benchmarks at PassMark Software - CPU Benchmark Charts
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2019
    mat200, fenderman and farnk like this.
  5. crw030

    crw030 Known around here

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    257
    Location:
    Colorado
    If you are just test driving, I ran 6 cameras for about a year just fine. But you will quickly realize numerous drawbacks to a laptop.

    1. Limited capability to expand storage
    2. Lower power CPUs
    3. All in one mainboard, so if you fry anything the whole board could be useless
    4. Usually only 1 network port (wont matter if you VLAN)

    But I had one just gathering dust so I used it to testdrive Blue Iris until I got a proper desktop setup.

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
     
    farnk, tangent and mat200 like this.