Lets talk CBR vs VBR

Discussion in 'IP Cameras' started by handinpalm, May 14, 2018.

Share This Page

  1. handinpalm

    handinpalm Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2016
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    Tampa Bay FL
    There is a lot of talk about optimizing your camera setting to get the most efficient storage capability. Not a lot of talk about setting your cameras on Constant Bit Rate (CBR) or Variable Bit Rate (VBR). I have 8 Dauha 1080 cams and a couple of old Cisco 640 cams, all set with 15 fps, continuous recording. Storage is 6TB WD purple HD operating with Blue Iris software. The Dahua cams came with CBR set as default. I was not satisfied with getting about 13 days of recordings stored on the 6TB HD, even though I thought the setting were optimized. I changed all cams to VBR with data rate cap set to 4096. I now get 22 days of stored video on the 6TB HD w/o sacrificing the video quality. What a difference in storage capacity! The more "quiet" scenes you have on your cam, the less data you will be storing. When using a constant bit rate setting, you are wasting a lot of storage. Evidently the only advantage of using CBR is the audio. I will never go back to CBR setting. Audio is good with VBR also. Here is a short writeup from IPVM on the differences. Anyone else have some experience to share?

    CBR vs VBR vs MBR - Surveillance Streaming
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2018
  2. marku2

    marku2 Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2016
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    183
    Location:
    Australia
    Try h265+ and watch your HD last ages
     
  3. STGMavrick

    STGMavrick Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2018
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    16
    What he said. D2D at h265+, 5 cameras, 15fps, CBR, 17 days ~3.4TB
     
  4. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    24,289
    Likes Received:
    5,816
    Note that blue iris or for that mater any other vms does not support h.265+ it is proprietary to the camera manufacturer and you will have issues with the video.
     
  5. john-ipvm

    john-ipvm Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    216
    @fenderman we have tested Hikvision H.265+, Axis Zipstream, Hanwha's SmartStream, etc. and they have worked fairly widely with commercial VMSes (e.g., Exacq, Milestone, Avigilon) with no special settings or software needed. We have not tested them with Blue Iris so I don't know about that.
     
    fenderman likes this.
  6. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    24,289
    Likes Received:
    5,816
    There have been numerous threads where the video is corrupted when using BI and the h.264+/265+. If it doesn't play nicely 100 percent of the time, its useless. How much video did you record and review? Have you tested Dahua?
     
  7. john-ipvm

    john-ipvm Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    216
    Yes, we have tested Dahua Smart H.265. We record various cameras for numerous weeks as we are testing a number of these manufacturers every week. Also, we track reports of issues from thousands of integrators and there are very few reported issues with smart codecs on the major commercial VMSes over the last ~2 years they have been available.
     
    marku2 and fenderman like this.
  8. bigredfish

    bigredfish Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2016
    Messages:
    983
    Likes Received:
    744
    Location:
    Florida USA
    For me, HD space is cheap. I like CBR and max bitrate.
     
  9. marku2

    marku2 Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2016
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    183
    Location:
    Australia
    so true hd space is cheap but the hikvision h265+, made there 4k 2385s run a lot easier on the 7600 series nvr
    i had a bitch of a time getting past or adding more that 5 cameras to one nvr everything started to freeze up
    now with everything ticked to h265+ the bandwidth seems to flow a lot better
    its a bonus the hd space lasts for ages
    i have run back on the recordings and they seem fine on my test unit
    i couldn't at the time see the point of 4k cameras running at 1080 to make things work but seems this new 4k tech is here to stay and hikvision have to make it work into a bandwidth that is usable
    but my 2mp lowlight still blows away a 2385.
     
  10. framednlv

    framednlv Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    58
    Set all the cameras to run proper on CBR without tearing or ghosting then switch them to VBR.

    My opinion only.