Looking for guidance - hopefully I've come to the right place ...

Jinajon

n3wb
Reaction score
Howdy everyone :wave:

First post here; please let me know if it is misplaced.

I'm in a bit of an average situation at the moment, a bit scared of some people out for 'retribution' ... unfortunately they have the wrong guy! But I can't seem to convince them of that. Being a decent law-abiding citizen, its all a bit new to me.
Anyways, I've put off installing a security system for years, mainly because of the cost and my low threat model; but I think now is the time.

Bear with me because I'm new to this (obviously), but any help, direction, affirmation, critique, thoughts, or opinions will be much appreciated.

From having a bit of a snoop around yesterday, Dahua seems to be generally the best way to go, and Andy from Empire Tech seems to be the cheapest source. I've had a bit of a trawl through the forum, Cliff Notes, etc. already, but that doesn't make me an expert.
I am an electronics tech and will be installing/adjusting the whole system myself.

What I need from the system:
  • Insurance/evidence.
  • Image quality. I would rather pay more to get this than find that when I need the footage it is no use.
  • Reliability (although I intend to tinker/adjust, I don't want to need to).
  • LPR (dedicated camera).
  • At least one very good low light camera, or a suitable IR/flood illuminator combination.

To cover the property I am looking at ending up with 8-10 cameras probably, but starting out with 3-6 depending on cost. I have prioritised these below:
----------------------------------------------
Camera#1:
- Turret/Eyeball camera (Front porch, aimed East):
- Most important camera
- Street lights, porch light, and daylight
- Preferably 4K, day footage most important
- Needs audio
Camera#2:
- Covert camera (Foyer):
Camera#3:
- Any form factor camera (Back yard, aimed E):
- Pitch dark and daylight
- Needs best night vision or with IR or LED flood light
- Bullet style?