Looking for help building a home video surveillance system

ipcam17

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello, I would like to update my big box store video surveillance system with something custom-tailored to my needs, but unfortunately I don't even know where to start. I am a systems engineer with over 15 years of experience in the IT field, so the technology aspect is not a problem, but rather the camera selection - lens sizes, apertures, etc. I cannot even figure out how many cameras would be needed to provide adequate coverage.

I figured the best way to start would be to create a sketch diagram of my property, which identifies the potential entry points and areas of interest. Please let me know if you have any questions regarding the diagram and if any additional information is necessary.

Unfortunately my house can be accessed by foot from 360* degrees since there are no fences anywhere, and I have woods (conservation land) behind my property. On the bright side, there is only one street that I need to worry about.

Over the years I've had two minor security incidents. I found footsteps once on the side of the house going to the end of the patio deck - clearly someone was looking for something or scoping out the area. The second, and more recent one, we had eggs thrown at our cars on multiple occasions, presumably from a slow-moving vehicle.

I am sure I missed a bunch of information so please feel free to ask questions and let me know what I missed.

Attachments

ipcam17

n3wb
Reaction score