Loosing connection on hard wired cams

restez

n3wb
Reaction score
I have been Using Blue Iris for about 2 years with very little problems however in the last few months it has been very unreliable. I have nine hard wired camera's in the system and 3 wireless camera's. The hard wired camera's have been off for over a week now. Usually they would go off for a couple hours or maybe a day or two but it has been well over a week with nothing but the wireless camera's working. I am using a Asus RT N66U Dual band router and several 10/100 switches to have most of my camera's hard wired because of wireless range problems. I am at wit's end on why these camera's will not connect. If I check on the Ip-Cam tool it will only show the wireless camera's that are on. When the hardwired camera's do come on they are all visable on the ip-cam tool. I have not changed any settings anywhere and am using several different brands of cameras so it is not a camera problem I don't believe. The funny thing is they haven't worked since the last day of May but could all come back on by themselves at any time. They just haven't and I would love to make them more reliable like they used to be. If anyone has any ideas or solutions to this problem I am having it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks[h=1][/h]

digger11

Getting comfortable
Reaction score
Sounds to me like one of your switches may be flaking out or dying. Trace out the path between the BI server and the cameras that are having problems and see if you have a bad piece of equipment.

nayr

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
rouge dhcp server perhaps?

you surely have a network issue, you say several switches.. give us a topology layout, a single failure could take everything out.

restez

n3wb
Reaction score
well When I come out of the router I go to a 8 port switch then on to other switches down the line so I am suspecting the 8 port switch may be the culprit

restez

n3wb
Reaction score