Lorex? Dahua? Lorex is Dahua?

Reaction score
Hello,

I'm new to the world of IP cameras, I'm about a week into trying to learn about them. I'm interested in setting up 4 cameras on a residential property (my home) in the city. My house is a Row Home on the end of the block, with a garage and side door on one side facing a side street, the front door facing the main street, and a narrow alley behind the property. My initial assessment is that I can cover the garage, the side door, the rear alley, and the front door adequately with a 4 camera system, but I think it would be a good idea to buy a system I can add more cameras to later if needed.

My initial thought was Flir, since they're someone I had heard of before, and I (thought I) knew they made high end cameras for military and industrial purposes. Searching for Flir Cameras lead me to Lorex, who claims to be by Flir. I had just about settled on choosing this package: https://www.lorextechnology.com/hd-ip-security-camera-system/8-channel-hd-security-camera-system-with-ip-cameras/HDIP822VW-1-p#featuresSection before I found your forum. I really liked the color night vision option, in my neighborhood there have been many break ins, break in attempts, and car break ins (someone broke the door handle to my garage door trying to get in, and that started this whole quest) and I feel like being able to tell the police who do respond remarkably quickly that it was someone in a Red coat rather than just a coat could be very useful.

I had also considered Flir FX, the smart zones for triggering notifications and the rapid recap seem like really amazing features, but all in all I think I need a more robust system to be able to cover the full exterior of my house 24/7