Love Blue Iris, Need Help

chads100

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello,

I have been running blue iris for about 18 months now and absolutely love it. I decided to add more cameras to my system but I quickly ran out of PC power. I upgraded in PC a while back so I have already been through all the usual memory creating tricks:

All of my cameras write direct to disk,
I set hardware encoding to "Yes (NoVPP)",
I lowered my pre-trigger buffer to about 3 seconds,
I also checked the box that says "use BVR Playback".
Under global settings I reduced the FPS to 10 for live preview rate
I also tried the Intel Hardware Acceleration settings, however since I am not using the intel video it did little to nothing.
I also lowered the fps on each camera from 25 to 15 (hated to do it, loved more fps)

Here is my setup.
Processor: AMD FX(tm)-8320 Eight Core 3.5 GHZ
16GB Ram
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti Video Card

Currently
11- Hosafe 2mp cameras (for the price they work really well for my needs)
1 - Sunba 2mp ptz 20x zoom camera (again for the price I am extremely happy with this)

I would like to add 10-12 more of the Hosafe cameras.

Currently I am running between 70-80% when minimized and 80-90% when looking at live view on PC. Can you recommend a PC (preferably one that is already made up) that I can add the 10-12 more cameras and keep my cpu under 60% or so?

When I try to add one more camera, blue iris is almost always above 95%, two cameras...forget it (BI crash).

Any help on this matter would be greatly appreciated, I already have the cameras up, I ran wiring and conduit all weekend and was very excited to see the end product, just to realize I can not run them on blue iris with my current configuration.

-Chad

looney2ns

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
AMD anything won't cut it.
You need an Intel I7-6700 system.
The AMD does not offer the advantages the Intel does.
Search here for Dell Optiplex or HP Elite Deskpro.

rnatalli

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score