Milestone cs blueiris

Discussion in 'Milestone Systems' started by sotorious, Feb 10, 2017.

Share This Page

  1. sotorious

    sotorious Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2017
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    8
    Which one would be better for home use I do love feature rich programs. What sets milestone above blueiris?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  2. LittleScoobyMaster

    LittleScoobyMaster Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    14
    BI has been notorious for high CPU usage. Milestone can help with that and playback on Milestone kills BI, especially when your doing 8 cams of playback simultaneously. PTZ controls are a bit more refined with Milestone as well. Also depends on the number of cameras you have in mind.
     
  3. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    22,641
    Likes Received:
    5,199
    The high cpu usage is overblown..most systems need nothing more than a modern i5 and many even an i3 though the price and power consumption difference is negligible...blue iris can easily playback 8 cameras simultaneously..milestone is nice but its options on the free version are limited. Only 8 cams, no two way audio, no archive to nas. Milestone also does not have advanced motion detection options like zone crossing etc..
    Milestone does have a full client which is nice to have.
    If op has less than 8 cameras the best thing is to install both side by side. More than 8 cams as milestone becomes very expensive..
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2017
  4. sotorious

    sotorious Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2017
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    8
    4 thats including 1 ptz so far may do a couple installs for insdie probably maxing out at 8.

    What does milestone do better as far as a ptz is concerned.

    I have a gen 6 i7 so i dont think i should worry about overworking the cpu.
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2017
  5. hmjgriffon

    hmjgriffon Known around here

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Messages:
    3,328
    Likes Received:
    934
    Location:
    North Florida
    Also can you control milestone with http commands?
     
  6. rnatalli

    rnatalli Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2016
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    21
    Having played with the new version of XProtect Essential, it definitely beats BI when it comes to CPU usage even with motion detection engaged. However, BI has way more options and its mobile app is far smoother.
     
  7. johnnydec1

    johnnydec1 n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Has anyone tried the free Version ?
     
  8. randytsuch

    randytsuch Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    119
    I tried the free milestone version a while back, and then tried BI.
    I wanted to be able to read IO (like a house alarm or external motion sensor) and it didn't seem like the free MS supports that, but BI could.
    So I went with BI and never looked back.

    Since MS is free, and you can try BI for free, try both and see what works for you.
     
  9. johnnydec1

    johnnydec1 n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes I will give it a try
    thanks
     
  10. kailibuy

    kailibuy n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have purchased BI but found it is very unstable with 12 cameras installed. The program crashes all the time and CPU/RAM usage is outrageous. If you follow the talk on the site, you will hear people say to install BI on a computer but nothing else. Come on, what software demands such a strange requirement?

    BTW, I have 8th generation I7 and 32g RAM on this brand-new computer built to run BI. Even when it's about the only thing running, BI still freezes up and crashes.

    I'm trying xprotect essential. The interface looks much different, but image quality seems to be good. The problem is, I have 12 cameras...
     
  11. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    6,213
    Likes Received:
    2,730
  12. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    22,641
    Likes Received:
    5,199
    That is because you are suffering from an Intel memory leak...as noted above...