My ISP does not support VPN - alternate way to view my ipc remotely?

Discussion in 'NVR's, DVR's & Computers' started by buckfast, Nov 10, 2017.

Share This Page

  1. buckfast

    buckfast Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2016
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    3
    hi all

    unfortuntaly my ISP does not support VPN, nor am I tech savvy enough to exploit a loophole (if there is one). I assume I can still port forward, but read here that this is not recommended.

    Is there an alternate way? What i want to end up with is where i can view my Dahau IP cams from anywhere with a web connection.

    I have a Dahua NVR too, if that makes any difference..

    thanks
     
  2. TonyR

    TonyR Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    161
    Location:
    Houston, Alabama
    I've read that OpenVPN is highly configurable, can be run on any port using both UDP and TCP protocols, thereby making it extremely difficult to block by the ISP. I personally cannot attest to this attribute, perhaps another forum member can expound on this.
     
  3. Philip Gonzales

    Philip Gonzales Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2017
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    75
    That is correct. I am only familiar with running it as a virtual appliance in a hypervisor though. Not sure of any other methods of setting it up myself.
     
  4. daxmatt

    daxmatt n3wb

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2017
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    4
    what isp are you with
     
  5. buckfast

    buckfast Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2016
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    3
    Sky. I'e given up. Spent a frustrating 12 hours at this. I Don't have the networking know how unfortunately.
     
  6. Don Couchman

    Don Couchman n3wb

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    6
    LogMeIn Hamachi totally solves this. I am behind an ISP in the Philippines that double-NATs, putting customer networks on an un-routable, private IP plan. With Hamachi, I have access from anywhere, including my Android smartphone.
    Don
     
    fenderman likes this.
  7. DavidDavid

    DavidDavid Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2017
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    207
    Location:
    Ohio
    If you have a device such as a NAS that has a VPN built in you could probably use that? Or get a raspberry pi and use the program PIVPN. You would forward one port from the router to the pi to handle the VPN. Might be worth looking into. I'm pretty sure you can use a different port than the standard 1194 if your ISP blocks that.
     
  8. t84a

    t84a Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Maryland
    This is definitely an option but what this does is creates a remote desktop to a PC (or laptop) at your house. Jump Desktop is what I use. The only caveat is that you don't use a mobile app to view your cameras. You basically are using the PC from your phone. These tend to be a little clunky as well, particularly the mouse and keyboard functions.
     
  9. buckfast

    buckfast Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2016
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    3
    How about an intel NUC? As a VPN server and blue iris? Would that work with the IsP instructions for inbound services on ISP provided router?
     
  10. t84a

    t84a Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Maryland
    Eh, just port forward to your NVR.
     
  11. Don Couchman

    Don Couchman n3wb

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    6
    Young grasshopper, there are situations, like mine (double-NATted, private IPs), where port forward will NOT work.
     
    fenderman likes this.
  12. buckfast

    buckfast Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2016
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    3
    From what I've read, port forarding is not recommnded due to security issues.

    However, I managed to successfully port forward last night. It worked perfect for about 10 mins where I could see perfect live feeds. After that I lost video feed.

    I checked my upload speed which is 20 mbps.

    Now I'm put off port forwarding for security and performance issues
     
  13. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    5,584
    Likes Received:
    2,250
    It would work, but NUCs are underpowered and overly expensive for what they are capable of. Unless you live in someone's closet you will be better off with a larger but more capable PC.
     
    fenderman and buckfast like this.
  14. t84a

    t84a Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Maryland
    Is the IP address for your NVR static? While I agree there are vulnerabilities with port forwarding, I wouldn't lose too much sleep over it. What performance issues are you referring to, the video drop? Could it be an IP issue?
     
    buckfast likes this.
  15. buckfast

    buckfast Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2016
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yes. NVR IP is static
     
  16. mat200

    mat200 Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    1,117
    Likes Received:
    402
    PLEASE DO NOT PORT FORWARD, you will get 0wn3d! It is just a matter of time.
     
    looney2ns and fenderman like this.
  17. daxmatt

    daxmatt n3wb

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2017
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    4
  18. copex

    copex Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    Cumbria,England
    Sky Uk dose not block VPNS on there network, it may be an issue with sky shield, have a look at the sky community forums there are a few posts on vpns been blocked
     
  19. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    20,673
    Likes Received:
    4,430
    You wouldnt lose sleep? Have you not see the hikvision/dahua hacked threads just in the past few months? Are you serious? Please stop giving folks terrible advice.
     
  20. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    20,673
    Likes Received:
    4,430
    again, incorrect, hamachi would create a vpn, you can use any mobile app you want, it will think its on the local network..the downside is that the pc will have to be left on...you are confusing hamachi with logmein remote viewing..
     
  21. t84a

    t84a Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Maryland
    That's correct. I was referring to Logmein remote desktop.