My low tech way to get local temperature on cams:

bradner

Getting comfortable
Reaction score
Since WU went down, and I'm not a programmer I came up with a low-tech way to have my backyard's temp displayed in any of my BI cams (I also like that it's the actual temp in my backyard, not a weather station 10 miles away which WU was giving me):

1. Used one of those Accurite temp stations like this:
accurite.jpg

2. Dug up an old spare cam and pointed it at the display which I just put on a shelf out of the way.

3. Added that cam to BI

4. In that cam's BI settings under the "Video" tab, I checked off "Area's of interest (AOI)" and cropped just the outside temp display to show.

5. Staying in my weather cam's settings, under the "Post" tab, I checked the "Post JPEGs" box --- here's a pic of that screen actually... (I set it to update the image every 10 seconds).

IMG_1087.JPG

So now I have a single jpeg of my weather cam being saved to my BI computer in a folder called weather that I just created. This file just gets overwritten every time.

I wasn't sure if BI would update that image so I tested it out by not cropping out the time on the accurite display and YES!! the time updated with each image!!

6. I want back to the "Video" tab and checked the "Enable overlays" box --- clicked on the "Edit" box and then clicked the "Add image..." box and chose the weather.jpg file in my C:\weather directory from earlier and holy cow.... it works!!!

IMG_1090 (1).JPG

I'm just going to go back and re-crop out the Accurite screen to only show the temp now that I see that the picture auto updates in BI!!

Hope this can help someone out.

PS pardon my low res images as my BI computer isn't set up for anything other than BI so I had to take camera photos of the screens.