Need wider angle for soffit camera

toddk

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi-
I currently have a FLIR N133ED, which I understand is a 3.6mm focal length (90 degree diagonal, 72 degree horizontal). I talk with the guys at B&H and they recommended a similar camera (FLIR PE133 E) with 120 degree diagonal and 75 degree horizontal). I am wondering if that will be enough to cover the whole area (see the image with the whole area and the white box is what my current camera is viewing).

I currently have all FLIR cameras, so I am a little partial to keeping the same brand so I know it works (I am not an expert nor enthusiast), but as long as it is POE and will work with my FLIR DNR500 series NVR, I would look at anything.

Thanks in advance.
Toddsoffit camera.JPG fullview.jpg

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Hi-
I currently have a FLIR N133ED, which I understand is a 3.6mm focal length (90 degree diagonal, 72 degree horizontal). I talk with the guys at B&H and they recommended a similar camera (FLIR PE133 E) with 120 degree diagonal and 75 degree horizontal). I am wondering if that will be enough to cover the whole area (see the image with the whole area and the white box is what my current camera is viewing).

I currently have all FLIR cameras, so I am a little partial to keeping the same brand so I know it works (I am not an expert nor enthusiast), but as long as it is POE and will work with my FLIR DNR500 series NVR, I would look at anything.

Thanks in advance.
ToddView attachment 22838 View attachment 22842
Welcome Todd,

Wider FOV = less pixels on target = less of a chance to ID a suspect.

Recommend getting more cameras for better coverage. Please do take some time to read the following notes, we have lots of great people here sharing their knowledge and experience.

It's easy to get swamped with information here, so I wanted to share some notes with you

Please check out @giomania 's notes:
Dahua Starlight Varifocal Turret (IPC-HDW5231R-Z)