Networking issues - Help needed installing cameras

Reaction score
Hi guys.
So this forum (and the cliff notes) have been great helping me get my IPCam setup.
I now have 3 cameras (Dahua), a 8 port POE switch, and a decent windows computer - oh and I purchased Blue Iris.

But I can't figure out the networking side of things.

I have 0 experience with networking, and have tried following all the guides, but I'm not having any luck getting the ConfigTool to find the cameras.

At the moment I have:
Windows computer --> plugged into a spare wifi router --> plugged into my poe switch ---> which is plugged into my IPcameras.

I can access the wifi router settings, but the IPconfig tool doesn't pick the cameras.
When I type 192.168.1.108 into the browser I just get a time out error.

As I mentioned, I have zero experience with networking.

So I've probably done something silly. But I've already spent 5 hours tryingt o figure it all out and I'm getting nowhere but frustrated!

A few questions:

1) My security network is going to be 100% offline. So do I need the wifi router (it's not connected to my network). Can I just go PC --> Switch --> Cameras? Or do I need a router of some form in there?

2) If so, my router has various settings - wireless router, hotspot router, access point, range extender - which one should I select?

3) My router has 4 ports and a WAN port - should I be using the WAN port for anything?

4) My switch doesn't have an uplink port - just 8 POE ports, is this a problem?

5) I have a fresh install of windows and BlueIris - I haven't used windows since win XP - Do I need to make any changes to windows to get my network working?

Sorry for all the newbie q's. I have tried to figure this out on my own, but I'm getting no where, so would appreciate some pointers.
Thanks!

Reaction score
Ok so an update.
I found the camera in IPConfigTool - I ticked 'Current Segment search' in search settings and I found it.