New business owner here...

obbitar

n3wb
Reaction score
Starting up a business and a friend recommended this site for my security concerns/questions. I'm in the process of opening a 40,000 sf facility where I will be using 20+ HD cameras and I'm looking for suggestions... I hope people here can help through experience and expertise. My background is in IT/IS, but limited exposure to IP cameras.

Happy New Year!

dalepa

Reaction score
20+ POE Hikvisions $2k+, 5 POE switches $250, 20 cables $500, i7 PC $1K, and BlueIris $60. ~$4k Done.

Being an IT/IS guy myself, Im more interested in what kind of business your opening in a 40k sf facility :)

obbitar

n3wb
Reaction score
A few things I'd like to ask...

Is it necessary or recommended for 5 separate POE Switches?

What model camera would you recommend for internal storage as well as on the server/NVR?

Will I be able to use my phone to access and monitor each camera? Is there a recommended application? I figure I can open ports to access them directly, but would prefer software I can manage from my mobile devices...

If I were to do continuous recording at high resolutions, what space am I looking at per camera for a 30 day retention?

Am I only needing one PC if I'm doing continuous recording off of 20+ cameras?

A gymnastics arena... for liability purposes, maximum video retention and angles is required to dismiss negligence

obbitar

n3wb
Reaction score
A few additional questions...

Are the cable lengths limited?

Can I make my own? Cat5/5e/6 ? which ends to terminate with? I've seen Revo which terminate in a RJ12

Thanks in advance for any and all advice...

dalepa

Reaction score
See inline answers

A few things I'd like to ask...

-- 8, 16, or 24 port POE should work fine.

What model camera would you recommend for internal storage as well as on the server/NVR?

-- The hikvision 2332 and/or 2532 appears to be latest pics from this forum.