New Construction Home Camera placement.

jebus05

n3wb
Reaction score
Morning Everyone,

So I am a complete newbie when it comes to home Security systems.
This is also my first new home and I have been given permission to run my own CAT 6 cabling throughout.

I plan on running a 8 Camera System for now exterior / Garage only at the moment.
I have linked some pictures of my home and where I am planning on placing cameras and advice or recommendations or if you think I should move my locations please feel free to comment or give advice.
I was also planning to put a camera by the front door on the exterior I just don't know where.

Thanks,
Jeb

SouthernYankee

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
:welcome:
Your cameras are to High. You will be able to see what happend but not who did it.
I would place two cameras one on each side of the garage door, No higher than the top of the garage door, This is for door checkers at night for cars parked in the drive.
A camera at the door bell pointing out. 4-5 feet up
a camera behind the wood beam near the front door pointing at the door and the package drop area.
Drop way more Ethernet cables than you thing you will need. Two cables to each location. Pick a closet for the Ethernet switch location, make sure there is electric in the closet.
Also one Ethernet connector in all rooms of the house.
If that is a picture of your house, you need to get this done today, before they put brick on.
Walk the job site and take pictures every day. (from experience)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
My standard welcome to the forum message.

Please read the IP Cam Talk Cliff Notes and other items in the IP Cam Talk Wiki. (read on a real computer, not a phone). The wiki is in the blue bar at the top of the page.

Read How to Secure Your Network (Don't Get Hacked!) in the wiki also.

Quick start
1) If you do not have a wired monitored alarm system, get that first