New guy with Hikvision system on order

slodat

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
As the title says, new to security camera stuff. I have a computer science degree and am fluent in network stuff and what not. Currently work as a high voltage relay and controls foreman. The system is being installed in my custom auto upholstery shop. After writing that I am aware it sounds like I can’t pick a career.

Anyway, I pulled the trigger on a sizeable order on Amazon yesterday. I have the following coming:

(4) Hikvision DS-2CD2142FWD-IS cameras
(1) Hikvision 4MP DS-2CD2142FWD-I HD WDR IP Network Dome 2.8mm Lens
(1) HIKVISION 4MP IR Fixed Dome Network Camera - DS-2CD2142FWD-I 4mm
(1) HIKVISION HD Smart 4 Megapixel PoE Dome IP Outdoor Surveillance Camera, 2.8mm-12mm Zoom Lens, White (US Version)
Associated Mounts with junction box for each camera
(2) WD Purple 4TB Surveillance Hard Disk Drive - 5400 RPM Class SATA 6 Gb/s 64MB Cache 3.5 Inch - WD40PURZ
(1) Hikvision NVR DS-7616NI-I2/16P 4K 16Channel Network Video Recorder Embedded Plug & Play Up to 12 Megapixels resolution recording English Version

The building is 30’ x 70’ with another 30’ x 40’ forming an L. Outside walls at between 12 and 16’ tall. I bought the mix of cameras because I thought I should experiment with location, lens focal length and so on to get the desired result.

Sadly I ordered before I found this forum. I’m interested in advice, etc on my equipment. My rational was this is better than the Costco offerings. I bought it all on Amazon, so I can return if I need to.

This is the camera mount style I ordered:

All of the wiring will be in EMT (conduit).

Thank you in advance!!

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
avoid domes outdoors - use turrets...if low light performance is important look at dahua starlight or hikvision low light cams...consider a pc based vms.

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score