new LPR install with Dahua - look ok? (IPC-HFW5231E-Z12)

Andrew F

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm new to IP cameras and definitely LPR. I posted in the Dahua forum about my overall plan, and they suggested the LPR guys might have tips for that part of my plan. :)

We live on a very busy street with a fair amount of traffic. Speed limit is 25, but average speed is probably 30 mph.

I plan to install an ornamental lamp post near the road and put two IPC-HFW5231E-Z12 cameras on it, facing opposite directions. The cameras would be mounted 5-6' off the ground.

Here's the plan for the left-facing camera:

And here's the right one:

Do the angles and distances look workable?

I got the idea from this excellent post: IPC-HFW5231E-Z12 LPR from 137 feet. His angle is more straight-on than mine.

Thanks for any tips!
Andrew

bigredfish

Known around here
Reaction score
Generally speaking at 90-100ft the Z12 will perform fine.

Two caveats:
1- The Z has a known problem with maintaining focus past 80% zoom (you'll be less so ok) and when switching from B&W to color and back. This can be overcome with a couple of different techniques but will take a bit of work. Search on the Z12..
2- You may need some supplemental IR at 100ft. Its worth mounting the cams and seeing if the onboard IR is enough first though.

Andrew F

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Thanks! Is there a cam that's more recommended for this purpose? I have seen the focus issues and B&W<->color issues discussed here.

bigredfish

Known around here
Reaction score
I'm sure there are, but at the price point its slim pickuns. HiK makes a good one, but if I recall correctly its limited to a 32mm lens, 1/2 the zoom of the Z12. The other option some here recommend is a lower end Dahua PTZ with 25-30x zoom. I cant speak to that from experience but some here have had good success.