New Member - Got my Cameras and now onto Home Security~!

Discussion in 'Alarm & Security Systems' started by dlouly76, Jan 12, 2016.

Share This Page

1. dlouly76

dlouly76 n3wb

Hi All

I just bought 7 Ip cams and its on the way! Now I am onto home security. I bought a house with it pre-wired and have a Vista 20SE. I read that this system is pretty old so I ordered just today the Vista 20P and a 6160 keypad. I plan to try to get a Smartthings Hub and the Amazon echo. I read I may need the ENVL-3 or 4 to do this.

Am I on the right track or do you suggest another system? Id like automation and voice control. Id also like to be able to remotely view status of my alarm and control it. I do not need monitoring services. I work in IT so any customization and programming would be a fun thing I wouldnt mind.

Any advice or suggestions as you may have already been where I am and if you were to do it again what would it be? e

Thanks in Advance!

2. blake

blake Getting the hang of it

Just a question, why do you want an alarm that isn't monitored? Self monitoring only adds another level of delay between you and the proper responce needed for the situation.

3. GBot

GBot n3wb

To add to the previous comment, my monitored system communicates with the monitoring company via GSM (add-on hardware for another $300 plus monthly fee). I don't have to worry about internet going down, and if I need emergency services I need them immediately. To each his own. Sorry for not answering your question.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

4. dlouly76

dlouly76 n3wb

For now I just wanted an alarm to let me know if there any intruders. I'll have to handle the situation when it arises and any alarm is better than none. Just got the house and trying not to go into any contracts.

5. blake

I understand about the contracts. Now alarm companies are going month to month like alarm.com or a minimum of 1 year. I do 1 year contracting.

6. fenderman

fenderman Staff Member