New member working on 1st sec cam project

murphy2u

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello from Tampa. Security camera noob here, trying to get smart enough to do an external camera install after some ongoing crimes in my neighborhood (and a couple of minor ones in my front yard). I am tech conversant and relatively handy (build my own PCs, speak a bit of IP--a home network of a couple of a router bridged to an AP with a couple of NASs and running MAC based wireless authentication, fix my own cars, and do my own home maintenance). For better or worse, I have an systems engineering and nuclear power plant management background, but I've been out of that arena for 10 years.

*** Overall build goals ***
· 30’, night-time face-recognition quality coverage for driveway and adjacent walkway to door
· Need good nighttime coverage due to timing of crimes
· Cameras will be installed on the ceiling of the front porch--relatively protected from weather
· NVR with IVS that can trigger an external audio alarm
· The camera NVR (+POE router) infrastructure will have to be in the garage and will have to have a wireless bridge to my existing network (due to physical arrangements/existing structure)
· Would like to avoid running a computer full-time--I'm down to maintaining an intermittently used workstation and a laptop--I'd like to keep it that way.
· No existing rack--but buying one
· Effectiveness and simplicity are prioritized over price. Budget is $2k
· I do have an eye for expansion--I'm willing to include that in the budget/hardware decisions also (as looney2ns correctly predicted below).

Hardware--existing and prospective: (links to specific discussion threads will be added to each header as I make them):
- Cameras: New System Build--camera selection and installation advice
-- Driveway/walkway (10'-30'): Dahua IPC-HDW5231R-Z Starlight Turret--either two or three of them to cover the area and a distant approach
- NVR:NVR Selection and Configuration Confirmation