New System Compatibility

Discussion in 'Chit-Chat' started by Disposable Income, Nov 23, 2018.

Share This Page

  1. Disposable Income

    Disposable Income n3wb

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    4000
    Hi All,

    Firstly thanks for your assistance. I'm a long time lurker and first time poster. I have spent quite a lot of time reading through the Wiki and Cliffs notes (very helpful). Feel free to move this thread if I've posted in the wrong part of the forums.

    I'm assisting with installing cameras at my parents house and didn't want to waste their money/time. I'm based in Australia and have decided on 6 x HDW-2231RP-ZS. I've attached a diagram illustrating the intended layout including NVR, PoE switches and powerline adapters. The NVR and powerline adapters have already been purchased.

    Based off the diagram provided are there any major concerns in relation to compatibility of the components? My concerns involve the bandwidth required for 3 cameras over the powerline adapters (motion detection, not 24/7 recording, 10-15 FPS). I am unsure of the bandwidth requirements for 3 cameras to be transmitted over the gigabit powerline adapters from the garage to the house where the NVR is located. From brief testing performed I believe the signal on the powerline adapters are good and in excess of 50mbps. Additionally is a router required (on top of the unmanaged PoE switches) to provide IP addresses for all of the devices considering this setup will not be connected to the router/internet?

    Cheers for your help.
     

    Attached Files:

    mat200 likes this.
  2. 00Buck

    00Buck Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    Indiana
    Looks like it should work.:ipct:
     
  3. looney2ns

    looney2ns IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    5,583
    Likes Received:
    3,528
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    No router is needed. Set static, unique IP's in each camera prior to connecting the NVR.
     
  4. SouthernYankee

    SouthernYankee IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2018
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    232
    Location:
    Houston Tx
    I am assuming that the PC will be running Blue Iris .

    You can reduce your traffic load on the Powerline adapter by using the camera motion detection and not the Blue Iris motions detection. But Blue Iris motion detection is much better than the camera motion detection

    If Blue Iris PC is not on the internet a router is not needed. But if the BI PC is going to be view from the internet a router will be needed.

    It is recommended that the Cameras have static IP addresses.

    In my opinion the cameras you have selected are over kill. I would buy one camera HDW-2231RP-ZS then use it as a test system to determine what other cameras are needed. Get a 8 foot 2x4 and a bucket of rocks, 100+feet ethernet cable and build a test stand for the camera. Use this to determine the placement and type (lens) of cameras.
     
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2018
  5. looney2ns

    looney2ns IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    5,583
    Likes Received:
    3,528
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    Why? If he doesn't need audio, the HDW2231rp-zs and the IPC-HDW4231EM-ASE are basically the same price? Thus no futzing around picking lens.
    Of course, it's always best to test each location prior to mounting.

    Sorry, I missed that @Disposable Income was going to use a PC based VMS.
     
  6. Disposable Income

    Disposable Income n3wb

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    4000
    Thanks for all of your helpful responses! Yes, my bad I should have mentioned the NVR will be running Blue Iris . I was initially looking at purchasing the HDW5231R-ZE but considering I don't need audio and high fps I figured I could save some money and stick with the cheaper yet still varifocal HDW-2231RP-ZS.

    Due to the useless internet speeds in Australia (5mbps upload) I figured i'd keep the setup as standalone and not connected to the internet as viewing remotely would most likely be slow.

    From my understanding the best way to order is to message/email Andy who will then quote/provide a Paypal invoice?
     
  7. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    27,324
    Likes Received:
    7,301
    Blue Iris would have no problem uploading video at your speed. Blue Iris has 3 different profiles you can preset for max bitrate on the webserver. The default is 512k but you would have no issues at 2048 or somewhere in between.
     
    Disposable Income likes this.
  8. looney2ns

    looney2ns IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    5,583
    Likes Received:
    3,528
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    Yes.

    I have 5mbps up, and remote BI viewing works fine.
     
    Disposable Income and fenderman like this.