New system help please

nebo

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Great forum and thanks to many already for much guidance and ideas!
I'm not sure if this is the correct sub-forum since I'm looking for entire system help. Hope it's fine here.

I'm a journeyman HVAC tech, so all this is new and different for me. I have really enjoyed many overwhelming hours of research on your forum, but now I think I'm ready for specific to me help.

Sorry for the crude picture. I hope its viewable for you. It is only an initial starting point, and very much up for changes. Also, all the numbered points below are mostly questions, and definitely feel free to comment or hack them up all you want.

Homecamera.png
1) Use cat5e solid copper direct burial in conduit underground and hidden in J-channel siding on house. Will borrow a friends crimp tools/tester etc that runs cat5e for a living. http://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=12728

2) Want to store data on NVR for at least 14 days.

3) Constant record at night. Motion during the day.

4) 16ch NVR. Start with 9 cameras. Run a LTS or Hik NVR with separate power injectors ( http://wifi-texas.com/) and WD purple hard drive/s. Is this good idea?

5) Run all cables and order only a few cameras to see how each lense performs at different locations. Start with a 2.8, 4, and 6. Then work more into the budget later. Most cameras would be turret under eaves. Bullet on barn up high.

6) No home wifi. So only need to record. No need for notification or emails. Keep it simple.

7) Would like a good user interface on a flat screen tv, monitor, or mobile phone.

8) Would like ability to quickly scan to see recorded activity. Motion record at day, constant record at night.

9) Date/time stamp on screen.

10) Run a Hik or LTS NVR with separate power injectors ( http://wifi-texas.com/) and WD purple hard drive. Seen the online storage calc to get rough idea of needed space.