New to BI, Server Spec Question

notto

n3wb
Reaction score
I recently started playing around with the demo of Blue Iris and i think this is the route that i am going to go for a small home system. I typically deal with Pelco for work, but that is complete overkill for what i am trying to accomplish. Looking at the spec for BI, its is pretty broad, and i can understand that because of the multiple variables involved.

I am looking to put a maximum of four 3MP cameras on the system that would record direct to disk. The only client would be myself, and only when i need to check on things or pull video. Would an i3 or i5 at 2.9 GHz be plenty to accommodate this small setup?

Thanks for the help!

Dingus

n3wb
Reaction score
I would get the i5 out of the two, and make sure it supports QuickSync.

bp2008

Staff member
Reaction score
With only four 3mp cameras, you can get away with just about anything that carries the i3 or i5 label. But for best results make sure it is at least second generation (i3-2xxx, i5-2xxx, a.k.a. Sandy Bridge) and preferably not an underpowered one designed for laptops or fanless PCs. 2nd generation is where Quick Sync began, and Quick Sync is required for Blue Iris's hardware acceleration. Again you can get away without it but it will be more energy-efficient if you have it and use it.

Also, 3MP cameras are probably not the best value for your money. In pretty much all cases, you will get much better low light capability from something like this: Dahua Starlight Varifocal Turret (IPC-HDW5231R-Z) or any of Dahua's other 2mp starlights for that matter: Dahua 2MP Starlight Lineup

And if low light doesn't matter to you, then there are 4 MP cameras that are probably better during the day at roughly the same price.

I really want to see a practical comparison between some $500+ Pelco/Axis/etc camera and a $180 Dahua starlight varifocal. I suspect Dahua would put the more expensive brands to shame.

notto

n3wb
Reaction score