New to IP Cams and overwhelmed with the choices

catnhat

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi, I am new to the IP cam stuff. I am a bit overwhelmed with lack of camera choices within Canada and overwhelmed with the choices abroad.

How do you pick the right brand and models with so much choice?

I know my requirements are as follows with a preference to sharp motion at night (and tight budget):
1x 75-80° 6-8mp
1x 110°+ 6-8mp
2x 90° 6-8mp
3x 50-70° 4mp

I have been bouncing between hikvision and dahua, but open to any suggestions. Thanks!

sebastiantombs

Known around here
Reaction score
If you have a tight budget and want good night performance ditch the 8MP cameras and look at 4MP. The Dahua 5442 series, fixed focal turrets and varifocal or fixed bullets are the current king of the hill. Hikvision has a similar series, 1/1.7 or 1/1.8 sensors, but I don't know the model numbers in Hikvision speak. Unless you want to part with serious money, as in $500 per camera or more, an 8MP is not going to perform as well under low/no light conditions.

Above all, read the Cliff Notes in the Wiki, in the blue bar at the top of the page. Buy one camera and test, a varifocal is best, before spending any major money.

catnhat

n3wb
Reaction score
If you have a tight budget and want good night performance ditch the 8MP cameras and look at 4MP. The Dahua 5442 series, fixed focal turrets and varifocal or fixed bullets are the current king of the hill. Hikvision has a similar series, 1/1.7 or 1/1.8 sensors, but I don't know the model numbers in Hikvision speak. Unless you want to part with serious money, as in $500 per camera or more, an 8MP is not going to perform as well under low/no light conditions.

Above all, read the Cliff Notes in the Wiki, in the blue bar at the top of the page. Buy one camera and test, a varifocal is best, before spending any major money.
This is great! I wish I had come across that page a couple weeks ago.