New to NVR request direction

rbc1225

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Hello all, I am new to this NVR equipment and there is so much out there it's difficult to pick and choose what I need. I would like a 16 channel NVR just so I don't run out of channels. I am thinking I would like 8 to be POE and 8 to be WIFI. I would also like to add a License Plate reader and of course would like to be able to use the LPR software to read and store license plates.

That's the basics of what I would like to start with. I am thinking of just starting with the NVR box itself and add cameras as needed. I found this on Amazon and curious if it would be a good starting point? If there is something you would recommend that may work better, or better quality, please speak up.

Amazon.com : Lorex 16-Channel (8 Wired and 8 Wi-Fi ) Fusion 4K Security Camera NVR IP Recorder with 2TB : Electronics

Thanks

As an Amazon Associate IPCamTalk earns from qualifying purchases.

Flintstone61

Known around here
Reaction score
You can get more flexibility for adding mixed bags of cameras with The Dahua NVR's available from Empiretech or "Andy" on the IPCAMtalk store.

rbc1225

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
You can get more flexibility for adding mixed bags of cameras with The Dahua NVR's available from Empiretech or "Andy" on the IPCAMtalk store.
I looked there before I asked the question, and maybe I am overlooking something, but I didn't see any NVRs there that had both POE and WIFI inputs?

jarrow

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
WiFi camera's are rarely a good idea which I why you don't see many professional brands advertise with this, so I'd personally rethink that.