New Trendnet POE+ powerline kit

Discussion in 'Accessories' started by fenderman, Feb 19, 2018.

Share This Page

  1. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    25,324
    Likes Received:
    6,374
    While hardwire is always best, some folks use powerline...one common request is a powerline adapter that can provide poe power...this is a new kit from trendnet...
    TRENDnet | Products | TPL-331EP2K | Powerline 200 AV PoE+ Adapter Kit
    https://www.amazon.com/TRENDnet-Powerline-Supports-TPL-331EP-TPL-331EP2K/dp/B0796ZJPJ7

    Note that in most instances you can have someone run a hard line for 100-150...it would be a much better solution than spending 60 on this...
    Also note that powerline cannot be used with a surge protector..you will either need a whole house protector or add an ethernet surge protector after the line at a cost of about 20 each and creating a wiring mess...
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2018
    rufunky, Dasstrum and mat200 like this.
  2. code2

    code2 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    The wild wild west
    I used those once on a install a copper didn't want a wire pulled to his detached garage they work but it was a PAIN in the ass for some reason getting them a proper IP to each camera and working right with the router/NVR eventually it worked but now he has asked for a cable to be pulled to the garage and wants them hard wired in.

    First time ever using them so i was rather shocked it worked
     
  3. TonyR

    TonyR Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    1,881
    Likes Received:
    1,459
    Location:
    Alabama
    You must have got between a hot wire and ground (sorry.....I could not help myself). :winktongue:

    I've got a TP-LINK PLA in my garage for 3 years now, VERY hard to get CAT-5e to the cam there because of how the attic is over that part. It's survived probably 2 dozen severe electrical storms so far with no issues.
     
  4. handinpalm

    handinpalm Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2016
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    88
    Location:
    Tampa Bay FL
    This could be interesting. I plan on using a camera as a rodent camera to move at different areas outside house to check on rats & racoons. Anyone else have any experience with these?
     
  5. code2

    code2 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    The wild wild west
    Have experience in which part? Rats seen any where with in my fence line are immediately dispatched by the dogs. I don't do rats and Chicago thats are big and mean as fuck as far as the Garage can bandit they are left alone as long as they aren't in my yard cause they would be a issue for the dogs with the nasty diseases they carry.