New user, new install 16 (or so) cameras

DennisWM

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi, thanks for reading. Yes I'm a newb to Blue Iris and IP cameras. I'm not going to need a lot of hand holding with the Computer/Network setup, as I've been in the IT field for almost 30 years. One of my gigs was a Nissan Dealership and managing a CCTV system covering 3 locations, but that was 10 years ago.
I'm planning on monitoring my 18 stall barn with attached riding arena. I don't currently have data connectivity to my house or the internet from the barn, but I do have conduits between the buildings. (~200 or so feet)
What I would like help with is hardware selection.
I've read the threads about I5-6500 vs I7-6700 and will likely follow Fendermans suggestions to get a Dell or HP business machine.
Win7 sufficient to run this product on?
I5 ok or spend the extra for an I7 if I end up wanting more cameras?
Not current on Intel processors, are there i5-6500's or i7-6700's to avoid?
Regarding that, I think I read 8G ram is sufficient.
I understand direct to disc writing, but have questions about hard drives.
SSD for OS, and one or more Hard drives for storage?
Separate network card for lan, keep the cameras separate?
POE switch, I like Ubiquiti but am open.
24 port POE?
I can run my own Cat5.
3MP at 10-15 fps sufficient?
Indoor or outdoor cams? The barn and arena are covered and connected to each other. The arena can get dusty, and I do have overhead sprinklers to wet the arena footing. I can mount above that. The barn has an overhead flyspray sytem but those are over the stalls, but I think I'll be mounting in the aisle pointing at the stalls across the aisle.
Cameras will be 12-16 feet high, and hope to be able to catch at least 2 (12x12) stalls with a single camera.