Newb here

Bill_GT3

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi everyone, newbie here from SoCal. Looking to buildout a system for my home currently. Will have a lot more questions than I will be helpful (in this arena), but I appreciate your help and patience.

I have a qnap NAS I was going to use initially to run a couple cameras (4 maybe?). Model 453A, specs here:TS-453A - Features - QNAP

When I have time i'll build a blueiris PC and probably max out around 12 cameras.

Initially i'm looking for a little help with camera placement and some recommendations. My house has a large wrap around covered porch in the front that I would like to have coverage in, along with the driveway. Can I pull this off with 4 cameras? Any suggestions?

Not super tight on budget, plan to do this right the first time. Couple hundred per camera isn't out of the question.

The porch is reasonably well lit at night (8 of those wall sconces all around), on a motion dimmer.

Would adding additional IR lights help with nighttime viewing?

Underside of the porch is vaulted to match the roof slope, about 12' high at the peak. I'm fine to run conduit for cat6 to the cameras if the placement isn't easily accessible.

Pics for reference.
20170910_090352.jpg

FRP.jpg

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Hi everyone, newbie here from SoCal...
Initially i'm looking for a little help with camera placement and some recommendations. My house has a large wrap around covered porch in the front that I would like to have coverage in, along with the driveway. Can I pull this off with 4 cameras? Any suggestions?
Welcome Bill

Do expect to need more than 4 cameras.

You can start by just picking up one for testing possible locations.

See the cliff notes for lots of good info
IPCamTalk WiKi | IP Cam Talk

Q™

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
...You can start by just picking up one for testing possible locations...