Newbee looking for a LPR/8 camera system

afrmthabay

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Hi I am new to this but I want to buy a decent camera system and I heard Dahua is the way to go for my house with a License plate reader. I'm looking to install 6 bullet cameras, one PTZ, and one LPR. Any recommendations for under $2,000 if possible?

zero-degrees

Known around here
Reaction score
Welcome! Spend some time looking around the forum, there is a thread specifically for LPR and goes into great detail and even shows cams people have used.

As for your budget - you can easily accomplish what you want to on that budget.

Here is the LPR thread, just start working backwards: Dedicated License Plate Cam project

Last edited:

afrmthabay

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Awesome so for starters my NVR will be
1. DAHUA OEM NVR4416-16P-4K 16CH NVR with 16-Port Built in POE Up to 5MP Recording
2. LPR: HF5421E 4MP for my LPR

The only thing is I am not sure how high I can mount the LPR on my house and I know from reading it is poplar to buy different lenses. I want to make sure I do this right and buy everything I need

Kawboy12R

Known around here
Reaction score
How far from the camera will your plates be? PITA to go with 5421E with external housing and lens choice if a $100 12mm off the shelf HFW4431M-I2 would allow manual eyeballing of plates if that's all you'll be doing. 12mm isn't terribly long if you need a long distance plate cam though.

As for how high? Keep the angles (V and H) to the plate shallow while still allowing a clear obstacle free path to the target area. Remember you'll probably want to mount external IR near the camera as well.

afrmthabay

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
I wanted to mount it about 10 feet high angling it about 40 degrees if possible but I can do less or more or whatever is required and I needed it to go out about 100 feet. Thanks for the help

Kawboy12R

Known around here
Reaction score