Newbie looking for feedback

salsaverde

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello Everyone,

I'm a newbie on the forum. I've begin reading the documents in the "resources" section. There's a lot of great info there. Thank you!

My Goal: Monitor my property (outdoors) to keep it secure. In particular, to catch a bad neighbor dumping, vendalizing, etc my property so that it can be used in court.

My plan is to setup a DIY camera setup that will grow in phases, and would like to get some feedback my camera choices and the plan in general.

Phase 1 - There will be 2-3 outdoor POE dome cameras going to a PC running either a linux solution or perhaps Blue Iris. I'm looking at the amcrest, dahua, and hikvision. Does anyone have experience with them, especially under linux.

Future phases will add cameras to capture the remaining property and perhaps run a dedicated device instead of using my PC.

Thanks,
SV

SouthernYankee

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
:welcome:

--------------------------------------
do not know much about linux, have not seen much about camera applications on Linus.
Do not think of Blue Iris as Windows think of it as a standalone tool, just like an NVR.
-------------------------------------

My standard welcome to the forum message.

Please read the cliff notes and other items in the wiki. The wiki is in the blue bar at the top of the page.

Read How to Secure Your Network (Don't Get Hacked!) | IP Cam Talk in the wiki also.

Quick start
1) Use Dahua starlight cameras or Hikvision darkfighter cameras or ICPT Night eye cameras (https://store.ipcamtalk.com/) if you need good low light cameras.
2) use a VPN to access home network (openVPN)
3) Do not use wifi cameras.
4) Do not use cloud storage
5) Do Not use uPNP, P2P, QR, do not open ports,
6) More megapixel is not necessarily better.
7) Avoid chinese hacked cameras (most ebay, amazon, aliexpress cameras(not all, but most))
8) Do not use reolink, ring, nest cameras (they are junk)