No video from the camera

Sofianesfa

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello.
First of all i want to apologize if this isn't the appropriate place to post as i am not sure if it's more of a camera or DVR related problem.

Anyway, i just wanted to try and install a surveillance camera for my garage, i watched a couple of videos and the DVR installation seemed okey but the problem is i don't have any video when i connect the camera and all i get is the Dahua logo
The camera does work as the IR is on, the cables seems okey, when I go to recordings i do see the green bar as if it is filming something but when opened it's just black so am not sure where the problem is.
Am using a Dahua HDCVI H.265 video recorder with a Dahua HDCVI camera DH HAC T1A21P.

If further information is needed please let me know as i have no background on the topic, just trying to do some DYI while quarantined
Please if you could help me out, i would really appreciate it.

Old Timer

Known around here
Reaction score
Did you add a hard drive to the recorder? Most come without one, so you can add what you want.
Can you play back any video?

Sofianesfa

n3wb
Reaction score
Did you add a hard drive to the recorder? Most come without one, so you can add what you want.
Can you play back any video?
Thank you for your answer. Yes I did add a hard drive and it seems to be working fine.
When i access the recordings after plugging the camera i get as if it's recording with a green bar increasing and the space on the hard drive slooowly decreasing but when i play the video all i get is a black screen

Old Timer

Known around here
Reaction score
Can you view the video live?
You might have to set the video type to HDCVI on that DVR port.

You might post the model number of the DVR, maybe some one is familiar with it.

Sofianesfa

n3wb
Reaction score
Can you view the video live?
You might have to set the video type to HDCVI on that DVR port.

You might post the model number of the DVR, maybe some one is familiar with it.