Noob here, what is the best B.I. v5 setup video for new system?

Shadeth

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
OK, so I've spent months getting a plan together for my house, buying cameras, cable, learning to crimp to terminate the connections, getting conduit, routing lines through my attic, etc. Also bought a computer for BlueIris with Windows 10, one of the ones recommended from this board. So I got the hardware stuff mostly solved for, but now comes the software part and having just installed BlueIris last night, I have a lot of questions!

First, like the total noob I am, I plugged in two new cameras into my POE switch and wasted a lot of time wondering why they were so janky and not working right, before realizing they were both defaulted to run on 192.168.1.108 so they were in conflict, after I plugged them in one at a time and changed their static IP to something else, they worked OK. Maybe that is common knowledge, but I didn't see it listed in any of the videos I've looked at, most of them just jump into configuring BlueIris, assuming you've already set up your cameras! This site has been very helpful for learning many things but I was not prepared for this IP conflict with the new cameras both using the same default, but maybe I just missed info about that?

Second, I see that the camera menus themselves (outside BlueIris) have a LOT of settings. They even have a recording schedule?? Do you set the recording schedule through the camera setup login menu, or through blue iris? Or can B.I. be used to set up the camera's recording schedule without going into that menu for each camera (through the web browser interface)? Kind of unsure if the cameras record off a schedule set individually in their software, or if you just need to have the feed come into BlueIris and deal with the schedule in BlueIris, independent of whatever the camera's interface is set to?