NVR Sizing Question

Htown427r

n3wb
Reaction score
Howdy! I'm brand new to the CCTV world and I am in the process of building out my first system for home use.

I am planning on using qty 5 8MP 4k Hikvision outdoor cameras: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07PDDJHYV/?coliid=I335RK3164IUZ9&colid=A9FS8Y1P9FDD&psc=0&ref_=lv_ov_lig_dp_it#customerReviews

For the NVR I am planning on using Blue Iris for the software and a refurbished PC for the hardware. Here are two of the PC options I am considering:

HP Prodesk 600 G2 SFF, i5-6500 3.2GHz Quad Core, 8GB RAM, 500GB HDD
HP Prodesk 600 G2 SFF, i5-6500 3.2GHz Quad Core, 8GB RAM, 500GB HDD *136 | eBay

HP ProDesk 600 G1 SFF Slim Business Desktop Computer, Intel i5-4570 up to 3.60 GHz, 8GB RAM, 500GB HDD, DVD, USB 3.0, Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
https://www.amazon.com/HP-Business-Computer-Certified-Refurbished/dp/B07BCGW85X/ref=pd_cp_147_2?pd_rd_w=fDcwn&pf_rd_p=ef4dc990-a9ca-4945-ae0b-f8d549198ed6&pf_rd_r=2P1VK1TR22KDBK0WE3P1&pd_rd_r=012fb9ad-7be6-11e9-b695-87acaaaa01ea&pd_rd_wg=PYAWw&pd_rd_i=B07BCGW85X&psc=1&refRID=2P1VK1TR22KDBK0WE3P1

The first option has 6th gen CPU vs a 4th gen CPU for the second option. However, first option doesn't come with an OS.

With this setup, will I see any noticeable performance difference between these options?

I'm open to any and all recommendations anyone has to offer, thanks!

As an eBay Associate IPCamTalk earns from qualifying purchases.
As an Amazon Associate IPCamTalk earns from qualifying purchases.

iamtarded

n3wb
Reaction score
You can check the Geekbench comparison between the two systems and decide for yourself - there's about 10-12% performance difference between the two:

HP HP ProDesk 600 G2 SFF vs Hewlett-Packard HP ProDesk 600 G1 SFF - Geekbench Browser

I'd go with an added SSD for the OS itself with the regular HDD for recordings. With that said, I'd personally go with the 6th gen, this will run cooler than the 4th gen (14nm vs 22nm/65W vs 84W TDP).

SouthernYankee