NVR with IR control?

BigLarge

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Newbie here. I'm pre-wiring my new house with Cat6 and will be able to view my NVR from 4 different TVs (using a 1x4 HDMI converter). The way i'll be doing this *should* allow IR at each location. Are there NVR's (looking at Dahua) that allow control via IR? Or only via mouse?

nayr

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Dahua's only via mouse, havent seen a NVR w/IR remote in a long time

BigLarge

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Thanks for your reply. Normally, a way to combat this is obviously via a smart phone to independently view different cams. Unfortunately, an internet connection at my new house is going to be a serious challenge which is why I'm setting up my house to be able to view my system from every TV.

alastairstevenson

Staff member
Reaction score
Unfortunately, an internet connection at my new house is going to be a serious challenge
I'm sorry but I don't understand the relevance of this.
An internet connection would be for gaining access to the house from an outside location (security considerations aside) as opposed to what you do internally.

BigLarge

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
I'm sorry but I don't understand the relevance of this.
An internet connection would be for gaining access to the house from an outside location (security considerations aside) as opposed to what you do internally.
I am not aware of a way to have a wifi connection (to allow access to a camera app from my phone) that does not also require an internet connection. But I am, admittedly, not tech savy.

BigLarge

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Well, after a quick google seach, perhaps access via my phone without internet is possible.

Regardless, my main goal was control of my NVR from a few different TVs
It appears that is not as simple as I had hoped.

alastairstevenson

Staff member
Reaction score