Oh, so THAT'S why I shoulda made my own cables

PaulOTron

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
So I got some premade cables, paid a good price, and was satisfied. People suggested I should make my own, but I wasn't worried about excess length, interference, pulling the cables through tiny holes or other issues.

...and then I went to put the waterproof cap between the camera and the cable. Oops. It can't be done with the connector already on. (Although it could be done with the Reolink system I just returned, with a little trimming of plastic.)

Is there a way to "unmake" a premade cable, then put it back together while still keeping the boot and strain relief, etc? I don't have a tool and I've never done this before.

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
So I got some premade cables, paid a good price, and was satisfied. People suggested I should make my own, but I wasn't worried about excess length, interference, pulling the cables through tiny holes or other issues.

...and then I went to put the waterproof cap between the camera and the cable. Oops. It can't be done with the connector already on. (Although it could be done with the Reolink system I just returned, with a little trimming of plastic.)

Is there a way to "unmake" a premade cable, then put it back together while still keeping the boot and strain relief, etc? I don't have a tool and I've never done this before.
Hi PaulOTron,

If it is solid copper wire you can just cut off the RJ45 plug and treat the resulting end as a bulk cable end.

PaulOTron

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
treat the resulting end as a bulk cable end
Yep. It's solid copper. Wish I knew how to do that.

If only there was some kind of world-wide "web" full of infomation that could tell me how it's done. And some kind of "store" where I could give somebody some form of "currency" in exhange for new connectors and a tool.

tigerwillow1

Known around here
Reaction score