OMG I can't figure this out!! Dahua cam bricked?

Fester

n3wb
Reaction score
Let me start off by saying I am a noob to IP Cams, most of my experience is from the old analog cameras and DVR's. That also means that I know how addicting having a security camera system can be! Let me start off with the specs of my system:

Lenovo K450e with an i7 4790 processor running at 3.6 Ghz, 2TB internal HDD, 16 gigs of RAM and a 3TB external HDD for archiving video

Here's where my addiction to a camera system took me down a dark path Lol;

I purchased a Nortel Baystack 5520-48T-PWR POE switch..... this was probably not a good idea because although tested and guaranteed by the company I purchased it from, it came with zero documentation, and I know nothing about it other than it would afford me lot's of room for cameras down the road.

I purchased one Dahua HDW4300C IP cam

Blue Iris software

So.... the install went well, set up the camera with no problems. Everything was running smoothly except for a few problems that I was working through like trying to get Blue Iris tools to put the weather overlay on and small things like that. I had it configured to email a still image to me whenever the camera sensed motion. Everything was hunky dory.

Then I noticed that every couple of days Blue Iris would give the error that Cam1 had no signal. After a computer and switch shutdown and some fiddling the cam would return, only to do the same thing in a couple more days. I turned everything off and let it sit for a few weeks and then decided to run everything again... same thing - cam ran for a couple days and then lost signal.