Optiplex Motherboard Form Factor

Discussion in 'NVR's, DVR's & Computers' started by sleetdawg, Feb 14, 2018.

Share This Page

  1. sleetdawg

    sleetdawg n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    8
    Unusual question, but I figure some of you might have already gone down this path or can at least tell me if I am spinning my wheels.

    My BI box runs happily on a Dell Optiplex 5050 in the tower case. I'd like to move a different case that might have a little more drive bay capacity and use less than 4U on my tiny rack.

    I can't find anything online that indicates if the board is a standard ATX format or any other variant. Before I crack the case open for exploratory surgery, does anyone more familiar with Dell know if Dell uses a particular standard complaint form factor, and/or if they screw with it enough to make it practically useless in another case?
     
  2. witchboard

    witchboard n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    Here is a link to the service manual with an image of the motherboard. You may be able to determine what form factor it is by the screw mounts if it's not proprietary.

    OptiPlex 5050 Tower Owner's Manual
     
  3. NoloC

    NoloC Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    404
    Dell motherboards are proprietary, unfortunately.
     
  4. sleetdawg

    sleetdawg n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    8
    Drats. Oh well, no big deal. Thanks guys.
     
  5. dryfly

    dryfly Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    May 25, 2015
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    8
    Future buyers might want to keep that in mind when lured by the alleged ultra low prices of Dell machines.
     
  6. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,540
    Likes Received:
    9,568
    the low prices are not alleged...they are fact...if you buy the correct machine you wont need to swap the board or the cases...