Outdoor run to connect 2 locations

R. Rod

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Hello,

I have a property in the mountains where I have currently 4 cameras - everything runs great.
There is another structure approx. 130 feet away where I need to install another 3-4 cameras...

My plan is to connect these 2 buildings with an ethernet cable and since this is my first time doing something like this I would like to ask for feedback:
  1. I'm thinking of using CAT6, STP (gel-filled) outdoor direct burial cable. Pure copper, 23AWG.
    1. CAT6 to future proof this run, I understand cat5 should be enough for now
    2. STP to ground it - the installation I have today is properly grounded.
    3. Is there a specific brand/site you recommend?
  2. I'm planning to lay some conduit, so I can replace the cable if needed, or run another cable if I need to in the future.
    1. Not sure about the type (flexible, PVC, etc) of the conduit and the diameter that you would recommend
Is there anything else I'm missing that I should consider?
Any DOs or DONTs based on your experience?

I haven't considered fiber because I honestly don't know what it involves in terms of tools, etc.

Thank you in advance!

R. Rod

Last edited:

TonyR

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
As an Amazon Associate IPCamTalk earns from qualifying purchases.

Flintstone61

Known around here
Reaction score
is there electricity at the other structure?
i'm wondering about tree roots that might be in the path of your dig....
I had a 300 ft 4 stall garage that I connected across an asphalt parking lot with a pair of Ubiquiti long range transmitter /receiver units. uses ethernet for the endpoints/ terminations. here is one example. They're are other products like this from TP link as well I believe.
I have an Amcrest 8 port DVR running 2 cameras in the garage. and they are both transmitting at full speed.

R. Rod

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
And clear Line Of Sight between the 2 structures?