Patch Panel or Direct Cabling to Switch

Barboots

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
I'm cabling my new system today and have two options regarding the CAT connections to the switch. One is to directly connect RJ45s to the cam feeds and plug them straight into the switch. The other is to use some 5E keystone wall plates I already have, then use patch leads between them and the switch. Obviously the first arrangement has a more professional look, and it's not costing more than a handful of bucks extra for patch leads. However it creates more connections, and I can't envisage it offers any benefit operationally. The system is under the house, well out of view.

What do you think? Any discussion appreciated.

Cheers, Steve

Mr_D

Getting comfortable
Reaction score
I use these wall-mount patch panels at home: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00UVQI8B6/

I work in IT and hate seeing cords coming out of the wall/ceiling and straight into a switch. It says "Cousin Larry did this on a the cheap" and just isn't professional. Solid-conductor cable is meant to be punched down and not touched after that. Using patch cords makes it easier to move stuff around without coming up a foot short.

Last edited:
As an Amazon Associate IPCamTalk earns from qualifying purchases.

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
The point about solid is extremely valid. I'll use the wall plates I have on hand.

Cheers, Steve
Remember to leave some slack cable in the walls / attic in case you need to change the mount to a patch panel.

eggsan

Getting comfortable
Reaction score
Networking, I used both, solid till the patch in case of racks, and stranded to the units if wall mounted (pc's, etc.) units, it makes no difference. What I tried to avoid is the female-to-female cat extensions.

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
As an Amazon Associate IPCamTalk earns from qualifying purchases.

eggsan

Getting comfortable
Reaction score