Pixelation (Pulsating) issue - I Frame Interval

IPNewB

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello. I'm new to the IP Cam thing. I recently setup 6 cameras and an NVR recording 24/7. I have a Revo America "Ultra" NVR/Camera combo which is manufactured by Zhejiang Uniview Technologies. I'm noticing some pixilation every 2 seconds in my live view (it's probably there in the recording also). I think it's the I Frame causing it.

Here are my Main Stream settings...

Compression: H.265
Resolution: 2560x1440
Bitrate Type: VBR
Image Quality: Higher
Bitrate: 4096 Kbps
Frame Rate: 15 fps
I Frame Interval: 30
Smoothing: 5
Smart Encoding: Off

Is there something in my settings that can be adjusted to stop or at least make it less noticeable?

IPNewB

n3wb
Reaction score
Thanks for the suggestion. When I do that, the pixilation happens every second. So it is definitely the I Frame that is causing it. When I say pixilation, I mean the image quality degrades slightly for that moment.

trucams

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Have you tried changing compression to h.264? Maybe it is a stream processing issue?

IPNewB

n3wb
Reaction score
Yes, it also happens on H.264. I think what I see may be the "pulsating" pixel effect when the I Frame is taken as described in this thread...

Hikvision - Noise/Quality Problem - $50 Reward!

A couple posters in that thread describe what happens when an I Frame image is taken and that this is normal with H.264.

afhuss01

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello. I'm new to the IP Cam thing. I recently setup 6 cameras and an NVR recording 24/7. I have a Revo America "Ultra" NVR/Camera combo which is manufactured by Zhejiang Uniview Technologies. I'm noticing some pixilation every 2 seconds in my live view (it's probably there in the recording also). I think it's the I Frame causing it.

Here are my Main Stream settings...

Compression: H.265
Resolution: 2560x1440
Bitrate Type: VBR
Image Quality: Higher
Bitrate: 4096 Kbps
Frame Rate: 15 fps
I Frame Interval: 30