Planning for a newbuild - complete newbie

Vincent

n3wb
Reaction score
Hey all, newbie here getting a start on planning IP cam coverage for a house under construction. I've tried to make a start and located Cat-6 to the couple of locations marked on the attached pic. Basically I'm trying to determine locations but trying also to limit number of external cameras to 2 to 4 if possible.

I am just starting to digest the good information available on the site but in the meantime I'd thought I'd keep a running post on ideas, so I can incorporate any feedback as we go along.

Summary so far:

1) POE IP camera mounted centre of garage door opening. Probably quite a wide FOV to capture road in front and movement in the driveway. Height of camera around 2.4m (just under 8 feet). At this stage I was considering a Dahua Starlight Varifocal Turret (IPC-HDW5231R-Z) based on the extensive thread, low light performance, and the fact I don't know what I'm doing with FOV so will probably appreciate the flexibility!

2) Stub wall to left wall of the driveway I was going to put in a separate video intercom system. Given so few experiences successfully integrating these into an IP cam ecology, probably going to be one of those that sit separate. I've run Cat 6 to the location anyway just in case as I understand one can often use the Cat-6 as a connector cable between external intercom unit and internal screen anyway. Not sure which unit and there appear to be plenty on the market - any recommendations?

3) POE IP cam mounted at the rear right of the house covering most of the backyard and pool. Height of camera about 2.3m (roughly 7.5 ft).