Please recommend a setup (with house plan attached)

2JZGTE

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm a total noob at this and looking for help. I need 5 cameras (4 outside and 1 inside the garage), and I'm all wired with Cat6, so that's not an issue. I'm looking for help finding the right hardware.

The lot is 104ft x 58 ft and it's on a corner of 2 streets (to the upper and right sides). The lower side is the backyard and the left side is a narrow path between my neighbor and I. The house is a 40ft x 40ft square.

There is a driveway on the right side and the main stairs are on the upper side.

The green triangles are what I think I need to cover with the camera angles. There is one camera inside which I didn't picture here.

I hope I made it clear enough... I'm not looking for anything expensive, I really want a plug-and-play solution because I'm not good with programming or networking. I wanted to go the Costco way but you guys discouraged me from doing so :p

Thoughts? Opinions?
Thanks.

Attachments

aristobrat

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
I think your setup is pretty good if you're trying to get a general overview of what's going on around your house.

For the stairs and driveway, I'm not sure you'd get much detail with the cameras being 20/30 feet back. I think you'd be able to see that there was someone at your door/in your driveway, but if you didn't already know who it was, I'm not sure there'd be enough detail there to truly identify someone.

You can get cameras with more of a zoomed lens (i.e. 6mm) to help solve that problem, but that also narrows the field-of-view, so I don't think a camera with a zoomed lens will grab as much of the angle in their shot as you want. i.e. if you put a 6mm camera looking at your driveway, it'd probably only get 1/2 of the yard before the driveway in the frame, not everything you have sketched out.

If you haven't already, play around some with Camera Calculator / Design Software