Please recommend equipment to buy for a single home

spy111000

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello, I'm a newb on here and been reading post for over 3 hours on IP camera models (mostly Hikvision?). I currently have all Samsung branded analog cameras and a Samsung 8-cam NVR.
I really cant see much detail or ID a person...the resolution stinks. When I originally did the hardwire runs, I ran coax and cat5 and alarm 4-conductor to each drop. :)
Any rock solid recommendation for outside & inside cameras and a NVR? I'm not looking to drop a grand $$, I'm on a budget, but don't want to end up with in the same boat with junk or warranty issues all the time.
I rather do it right the first time, ie. I am asking the experts. Thanks

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
Hello, I'm a newb on here and been reading post for over 3 hours on IP camera models (mostly Hikvision?). I currently have all Samsung branded analog cameras and a Samsung 8-cam NVR.
I really cant see much detail or ID a person...the resolution stinks. When I originally did the hardwire runs, I ran coax and cat5 and alarm 4-conductor to each drop. :)
Any rock solid recommendation for outside & inside cameras and a NVR? I'm not looking to drop a grand $$, I'm on a budget, but don't want to end up with in the same boat with junk or warranty issues all the time.
What is your budget? how many cameras? how many indoor how many outdoor?
If you plan to use IP cameras you will have to run ethernet..

bp2008

Staff member
Reaction score
You did say you ran cat5 to each drop so you should be golden.