POE IP Security Cameras - Top 5 Brands

Reaction score
Hi all,

I am new to the IPCT forum and I am looking for some very high level input. I am planning to upgrade an existing outdoor IP Security Camera and add a few additional ones. The new cameras should be good quality and perform very well with regards to Person & Vehicle Detection (i.e., some advanced motion detection features, line crossing, etc.). What five brands best meet these performance criteria? Please note that I am intentionally sharing a limited amount of information here so that I don't accidentally cause a bias to any particular brand. Thanks in advance for your feedback.

Mandarin_Frog

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
What about night time performance with motion to capture clean images or is person and vehicle detection all that is important? Cloud based or completely off the grid?

These determine the choices...as well as a few other key parameters...

Mike A.

Known around here
Reaction score
Dahua, Hikvision, Axis, Avigilon, Sony/Panasonic/Canon/Hanwah(Samsung)/Bosch/etc.

Something like that and not necessarily in that order depending on what/price/application/other considerations.

Reaction score
Good motion detection at night with clean images would be important as well.

I guess the main point of my question was to try to identify the brands that are the key technology leaders. Based on my research from a few years ago, Hikvision and Dahua seemed to be highly regarded. I now see that many of their cameras are unavailable due to the NDAA import ban, so I am hesitant to consider those brands and I am curious as to what other brands compete at the same performance level.