pre made cables for PoE cams

Discussion in 'Accessories' started by xmfan, Nov 26, 2018.

Share This Page

  1. xmfan

    xmfan Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    28
    Greeting folks !!

    Those, the purists will always prefer to go the custom route, :lol: however, those, like myself with limited time might be looking for an express method for their install.

    So, here's the question, my friends...
    I am looking to buy 75' - 100' ft lengths pre-made cables, probably something from monoprice. Aside from getting solid copper (not stranded) cables, is there anything else I should look for, when going this route ?

    thanks.
     
  2. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    7,940
    Likes Received:
    4,718
    cat5e or cat6
    Pure copper / bare copper. (not copper-clad aluminum / CCA)
    If you are going to run the cable near AC power wiring, try to separate it by at least 1 foot and if you must cross the AC wiring, do so at a right-angle to minimize the impact on your network link quality. In extreme situations a shielded cable may be warranted. These are often not much more expensive than unshielded.
     
    TonyR and xmfan like this.
  3. xmfan

    xmfan Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    28
    @bp2008 - thanks for the reply. I was not familiar or aware of CCA, will look to avoid that when ordering.

    Noted, regarding the AC wiring, right angles as well as looking for shielded. Since I will not be terminating my own cables this time around, I can at least ensure the recommendations.

    cheers.
     
  4. xmfan

    xmfan Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    28
    mat200 likes this.
  5. mat200

    mat200 IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    3,807
    Likes Received:
    1,963
    Thanks @xmfan - that's a really nice deal! Free shipping too! Picked up 2 for testing.
     
    xmfan likes this.
  6. xmfan

    xmfan Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    28
    Those were my exact my thoughts as well. These will be great for when testing a cam on a 2 x 4 and bucket full of rocks.
    100ft is long enough to reach my poe switch in the garage from practically anywhere around my house.
     
    mat200 likes this.
  7. mat200

    mat200 IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    3,807
    Likes Received:
    1,963
    Note - the patch cable listed here is not rated for in-wall or riser rated - so do not use this to replace quality bulk rated cable for your runs.

    Update: turns out that the cable is rated CMX ( have to look closely at the pdf spec sheet )
    https://downloads.monoprice.com/files/specsheets/FLEXboot_Cat6_UTP_Specsheet_170424.pdf

    thus, as per
    Difference between CMP, CMR, CM / CMG, CMX cables | Cablek

    "CMX is a residential grade cable. Such cables are limited to residential or other small applications where the number of communication cables used is very little." - ok, should not be an issue as few of us will bundle more than a dozen together...

    CMX Communications, Residential - maybe substituted for:
    CL3X, CL2X, CATV ( "All in-wall and riser applications; not permitted in plenums." )

    However, not for Plenum - so no go on plenum.
    ( you can use "CMP, CMR, CM, CMG" instead of CMX.. but not CMX instead of "CMP" / aka Plenum )
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2018
    TonyR likes this.
  8. TonyR

    TonyR IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    3,111
    Likes Received:
    2,827
    Location:
    Alabama
    Excellent price for a patch cable of that length and specs.

    My only question is this: You don't plan on putting in the wall do you? I'm not sure about the "CMX" (outdoor) rating on the specs here; it seems most responses in the Q & A section state that because it's a pre-terminated patch cable that it is not "Riser" (CMR) rated and should not be installed in walls.

    I'd ask Monoprice directly first if you do plan on pulling in wall, subfloor or attic.
     
    xmfan and mat200 like this.
  9. TonyR

    TonyR IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    3,111
    Likes Received:
    2,827
    Location:
    Alabama
    You beat me to it @mat200 !
     
    mat200 likes this.
  10. xmfan

    xmfan Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    28
    @TonyR and @mat200 thanks for your feedback. As for me, i was not planning to run it permanently, just a temporary run, just snake it on the floor from the garage to, say back of the house. 100ft should be long enough, if not, I'll put the RJ45 jointer in between and install the 2nd cable to get the additional 100ft length. it would be a great way to determine the permanent cam location, as a dry run.

    cheers.
     
    TonyR and mat200 like this.
  11. Muziking

    Muziking Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    USA

    JUST SEEING THIS .... I literally ordered these same cables on Tuesday of last week without the code.... :-( :-( :-(
    12 of them at that I would have saved $80 ish dollars
    dam
     
    mat200 likes this.
  12. TonyR

    TonyR IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    3,111
    Likes Received:
    2,827
    Location:
    Alabama
    I feel for ya...that seems to happen to me too often also. Oh, well..that's just the way it goes sometimes.

    I have learned to put on blinders when I pick a line to get in like at Walmart....the other lines move faster than Rosie O'Donnell at an all-you-can-eat buffet....my line? Like me when I first get up in the morning: S-L-O-W. :facepalm:
     
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2018
  13. Muziking

    Muziking Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    USA
    Yeah I'm almost thinking they did the promo just because I had just bought a bulk order lol.....


    Went and chatted with MONOprice support

    they told me
    "Thank you for waiting. Upon checking the order, it was placed 12/4 and delivered to you 12/7. While the promo FLX100 was valid 12/6 until 12/10."

    no slack lol... would have worked if my order was within the code validity period, even pointing out that I hadn't even had the product until the period was valid lol... didn't work
     
  14. Muziking

    Muziking Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    USA
    FYI Monoprice:
    Price Protection Policy
    Monoprice will offer Price Protection on the price of an item if the cost of an item lowers or goes on sale within 7 days from the date of purchase. The Price Protection Policy will only cover one price protection adjustment per order within the price protection period. Sale Price for an item must be listed and valid at the time of price protection request

    Exclusions to Price Protection Policy
    * Shipping Promotions
    * Coupon Codes will not be accepted under the Price Protection Policy
    * Prices from other websites ( Amazon, eBay, etc.), Third-party sellers, and/or Competitors.
    * Misprinted or inaccurately advertised pricing.
    * Rain-checks for sale pricing on items which are out of stock due to sale or promotion.
    * Offer sale pricing on a similar product for an out of stock/End of Life item.
    * Black Friday or Cyber Monday Promotional Pricing and Sales
     
  15. mat200

    mat200 IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    3,807
    Likes Received:
    1,963
    xmfan, Muziking and TonyR like this.
  16. TonyR

    TonyR IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    3,111
    Likes Received:
    2,827
    Location:
    Alabama
    Yes, @mat200 , thanks for that. Those are the same specs I mentioned in a link "specs" in my post #5 above.
    We've all seen typos from specs (especially Dahua) when they have a boilerplate sheet and go back and change or fill in the info prior to publishing and fail to change or input a particular box or paragraph with the actual correct data.

    That's where I'm at with that spec sheet and its red seal at lower right with the Chinese writing. I understand the majority of cables and other networking components we get these days are from China (what's not, right?) but if I was preparing to run a lot of cable in my house within its walls and ceilings, I'd make that call or send that e-mail to confirm those specs regarding the stated CMX. I just find it puzzling that a patch cable would have a CMX rating and not CMR or CMP.

    On a similar note, I think I know how China gets rid of its toxic lead: it's in their 2-conductor lamp cord ("zipcord" or SVT-2). It seems so many small appliances, lamps and heaters from China have cords that are so stiff you can't coil them and they'll practically stand straight up like a frozen rope....could it be lead? Call me paranoid, I guess, but that has gotten my attention in recent years. :wtf:
     
    xmfan and mat200 like this.
  17. Parley

    Parley Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2015
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    356
    Location:
    Cypress, California
    The only problem I see it that on the camera end you cannot install the RJ-45 weather proof connector if you are going to use one. There are ways around this problem.
     
    TonyR likes this.
  18. TonyR

    TonyR IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    3,111
    Likes Received:
    2,827
    Location:
    Alabama
    You are so right but I believe the OP, @xmfan , has these temporary use plans for them while setting up his practice cam locations:

     
  19. bguy

    bguy Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Castro Valley, CA, USA
    CMX cables are not riser rated. CMX is reasonable for patch cables, if they are used as patch cables. If you want to run cable in the wall or between floors, get properly rated bulk cable.
     
    mat200, xmfan and TonyR like this.
  20. TonyR

    TonyR IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    3,111
    Likes Received:
    2,827
    Location:
    Alabama
    Yep, at least CMR in-wall and between floors. CMP can sub for CMR but not the other way around.
     
    mat200 and xmfan like this.