Preferred Email Provider for Pictures

Curlyp

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Hello Community,

I am new to IP Cam Talk and to using IP Cams.

I currently have a D-Link DCS-930L Wireless IP Cam (I know it's not the greatest, but it is a start!:D). I setup my email address for motion detection, but it seems sporadic. I have adjusted the sensitivity up and down to see how it functions.

I started using Gmail for the motion pictures, but then Google had blocked it (not sure why). I switched to outlook.com and it seems to work, but not all the time. Sometimes pictures are emailed to me and some are not. I have even stood in front of the camera (in the motion area), and I don't receive the email.

I am not sure if this is due to the email address provider I am using or not. So, I figured I would reach out to the community to see what is the preferred email address to receive pictures on? Do you have better experience with a certain provider of another?

Thanks for taking the time to read my post!

bp2008

Staff member
Reaction score
I have been using gmail for this for a lot of years, with fairly heavy use, and they haven't blocked it.

I use two accounts; one for sending and one for receiving. It actually surprises me a bit that google has not shut down the sending account, since its only usage is for sending several gigabytes of snapshots every month, and the snapshots are sent from a handful of different IP addresses on a daily basis.

I would not be surprised if the D-Link camera's motion detection/emailing is simply unreliable. Or maybe it has a limit on the the email sending rate. My gmail accounts have been fine for years.

Another thought is maybe your camera isn't staying reliably connected to the WiFi.

Curlyp

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
I have been using gmail for this for a lot of years, with fairly heavy use, and they haven't blocked it.