Q-See 8-Channel 4K any good from Costco?

David2018

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi,

I am new to the security camera world. Currently, I am remodeling my house. With increasing rate of burglaries in my area, I am thinking adding security cameras to my property. I already have service with my local alarm company.

I don't feel "right" to pay monthly fee to have security camera service with my alarm company. Therefore, I think buying and installing my own security cameras is a better and more valuable solution.

I came across my email the other day about this Q-See Security Camera System.

Costco Wholesale

• NVR with 8 built-in POE ports (QCK81)
  • (4) 4K IP Bullet Cameras (QCN8090B)
  • 4TB Hard Drive (pre-installed)

What do you guys think about this system? Is it worth it? Or, I should build my own system and get a quote from the online vendors here?

Thank you.

David

awsum140

Known around here
Reaction score
Do some reading here. Don't fall for the "more megapixels is better" stuff. Turret cameras are better, less problems with spiders and bugs, than bullets. A dedicated, used, PC running Blue Iris, and a PoE switch is a better option than an NVR

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Hi,

I am new to the security camera world. Currently, I am remodeling my house. ..

I came across my email the other day about this Q-See Security Camera System.

Costco Wholesale

• NVR with 8 built-in POE ports (QCK81)
  • (4) 4K IP Bullet Cameras (QCN8090B)
  • 4TB Hard Drive (pre-installed)

What do you guys think about this system? Is it worth it? Or, I should build my own system and get a quote from the online vendors here?

Thank you.

David
Welcome David,

Those are Dahua OEM products, good hardware - Q-see could be a bit better for customer service - so you would have to plan to spend some DIY learning as Q-see's notes for some of their products which Costco carries are short of information.